Recognizing those who stand up against injustice.


2015 Winners To Be Announced Soon!


2014 Winners Press Release

Horace Mann Upstanders Book Award: Anne Ursu, The Real Boy

Lifetime Upstander Award: Paul Fleischman

Community Upstander Achievement Award: Linda Christensen & Rethinking Schools 

 2013 Winners Press Release

Horace Mann Upstanders Book Award: Henry Cole, Unspoken

Lifetime Upstander Award: Tomie DePaola

Community Upstander Achievement Award: Luis J. Rodriguez 

Upstander New Talent Award: Innosanto Nagara,  A is for Activist.

2012 Winners Press Release

Horace Mann Upstanders Book Award: G. Neri, Ghetto Cowboy

Lifetime Upstander Award: Sam Swope

Community Upstander Achievement Award: Father Greg Boyle


Conference Registration

The 8th Annual Upstanders Children’s Literature Conference
Saturday May 16th, 2014

Wildwood School (elementary campus)
12201 Washington Place
Los Angeles, CA

Registration information coming soon.

Conference Program

To view a PDF of the 2013 program,
please click here.